Posted on

Establishing New Roots.

So It’s been about 5 days since I last posted. A lot has gone on. Sunday was pretty much wasted by a few friends and I roaming the streets looking for a good place to get lunch. We ended up settling at this please on Upper Street called The York. It was your typical British Pub that aside from the three of us, was completely inhabited by Brits. Therefore, we assumed that the food must be good. We were right. However, what was not good was the service. Actually there was no service. After awkwardly waiting at the table for about 30 minutes for a waitress to come over, a nice British couple informed us that we had to go up to the bar to order food. After feeling like fools, we ordered and paid up front. An interesting idea because you actually can just leave the table when you finish eating and not have to get a check. I ordered Fish and Chips because I wanted my first REAL meal to be authentic. So, after a short wait, they brought out our food and I can honestly say, I have never seen a bigger piece of fish in my life. It was enormous. And quite good. I had my first taste of mashed peas and HP sauce which is amazing and does not stand for Harry Potter. It’s basically steak sauce that the Brits put on everything. Anyway, after lunch, we walked back home in the rain and called it a day. I for one had to be at work at 9AM on Monday and needed to get a good night sleep.

Monday, I started work. It was amazing. Everyone was so nice and welcoming and made me feel right at home. I came home exhausted and was barely able to stay awake long enough to watch Sunday night’s episode of True Blood which was one of the best this season. I will not talk about what happened because I’m not a promoter of spoilers. Wednesday, I started school. It was less than amazing. Having 3 hour classes is really not ideal however, it is nice that I only have each class once a week. I much prefer this than having class meet 2 or 3 times a week for shorter periods. I had Cognitive Psych and Abnormal Psych. Cognitive was really really boring and I couldn’t wait to get out of it however, my abnormal class was amazing. The teacher is an elderly british lady named Kate who wears velcro shoes and walks around the room as she talks in her PERFECT british accent. I felt like I was living a scene out of a Harry Potter movie. That’s now the second HP reference of this post. Everyone talks about Harry Potter here so please forgive me. Basically for Kate’s class, she talks and shows us videos for an hour and a half and then we have a movie for the second hour and a half which is pretty much amazing! We watched One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest for the first class. I can’t say that I complained. Thankfully I didn’t get any real work and my classes seem like they are going to be pretty easy at this point.

Today, Thursday, is my second and final day of classes for the week. I had Personality this morning and Social Psych this afternoon. I have a lot of the same people in my classes, many of which I knew from NY so I feel like I will be able to get help from them outside of class if need be. However, something I didn’t realize until my afternoon class was that my teacher for Personality is the SAME teacher for Social. So I actually had 6 hours with the same professor. He’s actually awesome though. His name is Tomas and he has been the resident psychologist for Big Brother for the past 6 years. He is really famous in the psychology world and really really funny. So today went relatively quickly even though I spent 6 hours in front of the same teacher. I thought it would be a good idea to sign up for the Greenwich trip with NYU tomorrow but soon realized I am probably going to regret it. I now have to be at Westminster Pier tomorrow along the river Thames for a Boat Tour and Guided Tour of Greenwich. After my years at 5th Ave, I refuse to subject myself to the life of a tourist. But, tomorrow, I don’t really have a choice now since I can’t get out of this. Oh well. I am going to try and make the best of it and actually be positive for a change. CHEERS.

About mychinesewhisper

Living in London, UK.

One response to “Establishing New Roots.

  1. FancyCat

    Man, I HATED Cognition. It’s the only class for my major that I was just so boooored in, all the time. Bummer to hear that it’s not much better overseas. Abnormal & Personality were my two favorites though šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

