Posted on

Let the Exploring Begin

Even though I had only been here for 2 days, waking up Friday already felt like I was home. I had a conversation with a few of my NYUL friends about how it feels like we have been here for weeks already. Now that I have had a little time to get myself acquainted with the area, I know where to go to get groceries (Tesco Metro, NOT Tesco Express), where the closest Barlcay’s is, and what busses/tubes that I need to take in order to get to work. My first day of work is going to be Monday at 9AM which is quite early for me. It is definitely going to be interesting working my first 9-6 shift. Here’s what my building looks like from the courtyard.

Yesterday was the rummage sale at Byron. Basically, we could go buy stuff that last semester’s students had left behind like converters, hangars and books. I ended up getting 15 hangars, a hamper, a converter, tape and a few other things for only £6. A steal if you ask me. I was going to buy some books but they were charging £35 each which i thought was REALLY high, considering Amazon UK sells them for much cheaper. I ended up ordering 5 books today and it cost me £85 plus shipping which is FAR less than what I usually pay back in New York. I spent the rest of my day yesterday walking around Bloomsbury and spent a short while catching up on some of my shows from back home like Suits, Burn Notice and Jersey Shore. I got a slingbox before I left and installed it at my mom’s house which allows me to watch her tv live or any tv shows she recorded on her DVR. It’s quite possibly the most amazing thing since sliced bread. If you haven’t ever heard of it, I suggest looking into it.

This morning I woke up at the crack of dawn. Literally like 6AM. I have no idea how or why i am able to wake up so early because the time change is forward, not backwards. But anyway, I used this time to go to Tesco and get groceries. When I got to the supermarket, I spent about 10 minutes trying to figure out how to take one of the shopping carts (trolleys as the lady called them). They were joined by chains and I honestly couldn’t figure out how to detach one. I asked the lady and she told me that you have to put a pound (£) into the cart and that it will release the chain. Interestingly enough, when you are through with the “trolley” you return it and get your 1 pound coin back! I guess this is their insurance policy to make sure that their carts don’t leave the building. After shopping for nearly an hour, I had about 35 items which is a whole hell of a lot if you consider I had to carry it all back to my apartment. It was only £48 which is was ridiculously cheap considering how much I purchased. When I got back to my flat, I was exhausted. I unpacked all of my groceries and checked my mail for my debit card which still hasn’t arrived. 😦 Next thing I knew, I was asleep again!

At about noon, I woke up and remembered that NYUL had a bus tour of London at 130. At about 1pm, I walked to Byron, the other residence , with two of my friends, Kristin and Cat. We boarded the bus not knowing what to expect. However, we actually were pleasantly surprised. The tour guide was awesome. She was very knowledgeable and witty. We honestly went through all of London: Kings Cross, Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, Harrods, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, Parliament, London Eye, Financial District, St Paul’s Cathedral and much more.

I’m not much of a tourist so I really liked going through everything in one day and being able to see what I actually thought was worth seeing again in the future. I took a lot of pictures on my new camera (Canon 60D). I really am in love with it. I couldn’t be happier with it. Every single picture that I took came out much better than I expected. Tonight there is an event at a Pub down the street that I think pretty much all of us are going to so we will see how that goes. More on that later…

About mychinesewhisper

Living in London, UK.

Leave a Reply

